Which is better for WordPress -Hosted or self-hosted?

I’ve hosted my blog on my own server since 2004. I’ve tried a number of other blogging platforms (Typepad, Tumblr, etc.), but I like the features and customization available with themes and plug-ins with a self-hosted site. (I know I’ve already lost most of you, but for you blogging nerds, hang in there.)

I convinced Aaronwordpress-logo.jpg last year to move from Blogger to WordPress.com, and he has shared with me that it’s been a great transition – especially bringing added interaction (blog comments) and more followers than he had over on Blogger.

Then I stumbled across this article from 2013 which says:

Self hosties are missing out on the community side of wordpress. Sure, we’ve got our own thing going on, and we tap into communities like facebook, twitter and DISQUS, but we don’t seem to have any way of readily tapping into the rich and fascinating community over on the hosted side of the fence.

It’s got me thinking.. should I move my blog to WordPress.com? I can still use my URL of journeyguy.com and just forward it there.

Thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Which is better for WordPress -Hosted or self-hosted?

  1. It’s an excellent question and one which I don’t have an answer for! I’ve been self hosting since 2002 and have never had much in the way of comments directly on my site. I often link articles in my Facebook network and it almost pains me to watch conversations bubbling away there as a result. I wish people would have the conclversations on my site rather than Facebook! Anyway. I made the call to stick with self hosted for a number of other technical reasons so having weighed it all up, self hosting still works better for me and http://www.dragondrop.org

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment, Matt! I am a graphic designer at heart, and I love the ability to control all aspects of my blog. I’ve also experienced the FB convo bubble and sighed… wishing they’d interact on my blog.

      Two things I did there was to create a FB page for my blog and post updates there (it’s where most of my traffic sources from ), and then I installed a plug-in called Facebook Comments Importer which allows me to import comments made on my blog’s FB page about articles into the appropriate entry on my blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

